My Catalog > General Configuration

The information below consists of descriptions of the fields present on the "Configuration > General" page in the admin.

E-Commerce -


Catalog pages e-Commerce enabled:

This checkbox lets you enable or disable customers from adding products to their cart. You want to leave this field checked at all times. The only time you would un-check this field is if you want customers to be able to view your product info, but not to make any purchases from your site.

 

Show “View Cart” link on website navigation:

 

When this field is checked, the “View Cart” link will display in the left navigation menu of your site, enabling customers to click the link to view the products they’ve added to their cart.

When this field is un-checked, the “View Cart” link will NOT be displayed in the left navigation menu of your site.

 

Show Mini-Shopping Cart:

 

When this field is checked, a small window will display in the top left area of your site displaying the following:

 

  • All products currently added to your shopping cart.
  • The total order price.
  • A link to view the cart and checkout.

This makes it easy for customers to keep track of the items they are adding to their cart while they browse your website.

 

When this field is un-checked, the “Mini-Shopping Cart” window will NOT be displayed on your site.

 

Show “New Items”:

 

When this field is checked, a small window will display in the top left area of your site displaying information for a new product that was recently added to your catalog. This is a good way to advertise new products to your customers. The displayed product is randomly chosen each time a page loads on your site. This means that every time someone visits a different page on your site, this window will display a different “New” item.

 

You can manually mark an item as “New” by editing it (“Products > View/Edit Products”) and checking the “New Item” field. Only products that are selected as “New” will be displayed in this window.

 

In addition, you can automatically select “New” products by checking the “Automatically show products created less than X days ago” field. Read below for more info.

 

Show Category List:

 

When this field is checked, a dropdown will appear in the top left area of your site listing all of your product categories/classes. When a customer selects a class from the dropdown, the page will display all products that belong to that class.

 

Show Manufacturer List:

 

When this field is checked, a dropdown will appear in the top left area of your site listing all of your product manufacturers. When a customer selects a manufacturer from the dropdown, the page will display all products that belong to that manufacturer.

 

Show Navigation Menu:

 

When this field is un-checked, the navigation menu will be hidden on your site. Always leave this field checked unless you do not want customers to be able to navigate your website.

 

Automatically show products created less than ‘X’ days ago (from today’s date) as NEW:

 

When this field is checked, the system will automatically select newly created products as “New”. “New” products display in the “New Items” window that appears on the top left area of your site.

 

You can specify which products are to automatically be labeled as “New” by entering the number of days from it’s creation date.

 

For example, if you type ‘10’ days, then all products that were created within the last 10 days will be labeled as “New”. Once a product as existed in your catalog for more than 10 days, the system will automatically remove its “New” status.

Order Confirmations –

This section has three areas: This information is used to configure where you want your product order information sent. You will need to input a valid e-mail address such as, sales@yourdomain.com.

Send FROM this address when sending TO CUSTOMER:

This is what the customer sees and is a verification of an order email sent after the order has been completed including products purchased.

Send TO this address when sending to ME:

This should be sent to you and is a notification that an order has been placed and includes the Order ID number.

Send a copy of the items ordered to:

This can be used to send a copy of the order to a drop shipper or other source. All of the order information is sent including products purchased and customers contact info for orders that were placed on your site.

Orders Confirmation Page –

 

Once a customer submits the order, they will be redirected to this page on your site. You may choose any page in the drop down box for them to be redirected to.

Checkout Instructions -

 

Enter instructions below that your customer can reply to about the order or specific products. These instructions will show up in the checkout area and will have a text box below for customers to respond. The text your customer enters will be added to the order details page.

Note: When you are finished making changes click ‘Submit’ at the bottom.

Add Feedback